Our mission is to provide Quebec with a real regional air carrier serving the regions and their development while ensuring the offer of affordable plane tickets

Recent decades have shown that the current private, for-profit model, doesn't meet the needs of Quebec regions and their citizens. It's time to take charge of this essential tool for the development of our regions.
The cooperative model has proven itself in Quebec. We therefore propose its application to regional air transport.
Today, we present the Treq Regional Transport Cooperative project Coopérative de transport régional Treq

Our Proposed Network

Our network covers all regions of Quebec thanks to a fleet of high-performance aircrafts (Bombardier Q-400 - 78 seats). Our network also offers regions connectivity to international carriers.
Our goal: to connect the regions of Quebec to the world and the world to the regions of Quebec.
In addition to providing reliable air service to the regions, we aim to offer affordable seats for our members of the Treq Cooperative

Additional Informations

Why create a new regional carrier in Quebec?

The indefinite suspension of Air Canada flights to several Quebec destinations demonstrates that their primary mission is not regional transportation. A new model must be implemented. In Quebec, the source of the problem is the high price of airline tickets.

Our project proposes to provide Quebec with a regional carrier similar to regional carriers serving the rest of Canada. We would use, like the latter, high-performance aircraft: the Q400 Bombardier - 78 seats in order to lower the price of tickets.

What would the ticket cost?

Many suggest that ticket prices are high because there is no demand. We think the opposite. There is no demand because prices are high. It's time to break this vicious cycle. If it's possible in the rest of Canada, why not in Quebec?

The prices will be very similar to those of regional airlines in Ontario.

short distances : Saguenay/Montréal or Baie-Comeau/Québec, a price varying between $ 199 and $ 276

longer distances : Montreal- the Magdalen Islands at $318 to $425.

What is a cooperative?

"A cooperative is a legal person grouping together people, companies which have common economic, social or cultural needs and which, to satisfy them, join forces to run a business"

Why establish Treq as a cooperative?

The model of private for-profit transportation companies does not seem to work for our regions. The responsibility of these organizations lies with their shareholders and not the population of the regions. The cooperative model is based on a business mission larger than making profits. Our mission would be above all to serve the citizens of the regions, to contribute to their economic development and to ensure affordable access to regional and international tourists. More than ever, the regions are aware of the problem with the current air transport model and want a long-term strategic solution.

The cooperative model eliminates the risk of replacing one monopoly with another.

Quebecers are not used to flying for their travels within Quebec. Are they ready for such a project?

Considering the very high price of plane tickets, it is almost impossible for a couple or a family to travel by plane to regions or even major cities. At $ 1,000 a ticket, no one flies. Quebecers or not.  

Give Quebecers the same quality of service at the same price as in the rest of Canada and they will be there as they are for international destinations.

Do the regions of Quebec have the same air potential as the rest of Canada?  

Absolutely.

Let's compare apples to apples. Let's compare Timmins in Ontario and Rouyn-Noranda in Quebec. Similar populations of around 40,000, a very similar socio-economic reality with the timber industry and the mines. The two are an equal distance from their respective metropolis, Toronto and Montreal. How to explain that there are three times more regional passengers at Timmins airport than at Rouyn-Noranda? 

The reason is simple: Porter Airlines and Air Canada are offering airline tickets starting at $280 round trip, including taxes. 

When can the project start?

We wish to act quickly.

Aircrafts have already been secured and could be put into operation in the coming weeks to ensure that in the short term no region is left without air service. The coming months will be dedicated to properly structuring the Cooperative to be in full operation in 2021.

How to become a member of the Treq Coop?

As it's done in all other cooperatives, by buying a share. This way, the Treq members can have access to our prices and services. Treq

All Quebecers are welcomed.

Jumping on board?

Join our mailing list to stay informed!

Notre raison d’être.

Notre mission.

Notre mission est de doter le Québec d’un réel transporteur aérien régional au service des régions et de leur développement tout en assurant l’offre de billets d’avion à bas prix.

Les dernières décennies ont démontré que le modèle actuel, privé à but lucratif, ne répond pas aux besoins des régions du Québec et de leurs citoyens. Il est temps de prendre en main cet outil essentiel au développement de nos régions.
Le modèle coopératif a fait ses preuves au Québec. Nous proposons ainsi son application au transport aérien régional. Aujourd'hui, nous présentons la Coopérative de Transport Régional du Québec TREQ.

Nos dessertes aériennes d’ici

Nos destinations.

Aller-retour

Montréal

318$-425$

Aller-retour

Québec

199$-276$

Aller-retour

Québec

276$-378$

Aller-retour

Québec

276$-378$

l’ensemble de

nos dessertes.

DES dessertes aériennes d’ici.

Notre réseau proposé.

Notre réseau couvre l’ensemble des régions du Québec grâce à une flotte d’appareils performants (Bombardier Q-400 – 74 places) . Notre réseau offre aussi aux régions une connectivité aux transporteurs internationaux.
Notre objectif: connecter les régions du Québec sur le monde et le monde sur les régions du Québec.

coûts de sièges abordables

Nos tarifs membres visés.

En plus d’assurer un service aérien fiable aux régions, nous visons des sièges à prix abordables pour nos membres de la Coopérative TREQ.

VOLS ALLER-RETOUR COURTE DISTANCE

199$-276$

MONTRÉAL - QUÉBEC
MONTRÉAL - SAGUENAY
MONTRÉAL - SHERBROOKE
MONTRÉAL - GATINEAU
QUÉBEC - MONT-JOLI
QUÉBEC - SAGUENAY
QUÉBEC - BAIE-COMEAU
SEPT-ILES - WABUSH
GASPÉ - ILES-DE-LA-MADELEINE
VOLS ALLER-RETOUR MOYENNE DISTANCE

276$-318$

MONTRÉAL - ROUYN-NORANDA
MONTRÉAL - MONT-JOLI
MONTRÉAL - BAIE-COMEAU
QUÉBEC - SEPT-ILES
QUÉBEC - GASPÉ
QUÉBEC - ILES-DE-LA-MADELEINE
QUÉBEC - ROUYN-NORANDA
VOLS ALLER-RETOUR LONGUE DISTANCE

318$-425$

MONTRÉAL - ILES-DE-LA-MADELEINE
MONTRÉAL - SEPT-ILES
MONTRÉAL - WABUSH

Questions et Réponses

Informations supplémentaires.

La suspension indéfinie des vols d’Air Canada sur plusieurs destinations québécoises démontre que leur mission première n’est pas le transport régional. Un nouveau modèle doit être mis en place. Au Québec, la source du problème est le prix élevé des billets d’avion.

Notre projet propose de doter le Québec d’un transporteur régional semblable aux transporteurs régionaux desservant le reste du Canada. Nous utiliserions, comme ces derniers, des appareils performants : le bombardier Q400 – 78 places afin de permettre de baisser le prix des billets.

Plusieurs suggèrent que les prix de sièges sont élevés parce qu’il n’y a pas de demande. On pense le contraire. Il n’y a pas de demande parce que les prix sont élevés. Il est temps de briser ce cercle vicieux. Si c’est possible dans reste du Canada, pourquoi pas au Québec?

Les prix seront très similaires à ceux des sociétés aériennes régionales en Ontario.

distances courtes : Saguenay/Montréal ou Baie-Comeau/Québec, un prix variant entre 199$ et 276$

distances plus longues : Montréal- les îles de la Madeleine 318$ à 425$.

« Une coopérative est une personne morale regroupant des personnes, sociétés qui ont des besoins économiques, sociaux ou culturels communs, et qui, en vue de les satisfaire, s’associent pour exploiter une entreprise »

Le modèle des compagnies de transport privées à but lucratif ne semble pas fonctionner pour nos régions. La responsabilité de ces organisations est envers leurs actionnaires et non la population des régions. Le modèle coopératif repose sur une mission d’entreprise autre que de faire des bénéfices. Notre mission serait avant tout de servir les citoyens des régions, de contribuer à leur développement économique et d’assurer un accès abordable aux touristes régionaux et internationaux. Plus que jamais, les régions sont conscientes du problème avec le modèle de transport aérien actuel et désirent une solution stratégique et à long terme.

Le modèle coopératif élimine les risques de remplacer un monopole par un autre.

Considérant le prix très élevé des billets d’avion, il est presque impossible pour un couple ou une famille de se déplacer en avion vers les régions ou encore les grands centres. À 1000$ le billet aller-retour, personne ne vole. Québécois ou pas.  

Donnez aux Québécois la même qualité de service au même prix de billet que dans le reste du Canada et ils seront au rendez-vous comme ils le sont pour les destinations soleil et vers l’international.

Absolument.

Comparons des pommes avec des pommes. Comparons Timmins en Ontario et Rouyn-Noranda au Québec.  Des populations similaires d’environ 40 000 habitants, une réalité socio-économique très semblable avec l’industrie du bois et les mines.  Les deux sont éloignées d’une distance égale de leur métropole respective soit Toronto et Montréal.  Comment expliquer qu’il y a trois fois plus de passagers régionaux à l’aéroport de Timmins qu’à celui de Rouyn-Noranda? 

La raison est simple, Porter Airlines et Air Canada y offrent des billets d’avion à partir de 280$ aller-retour taxes comprises. 

On désire agir rapidement.

Déjà des appareils ont été sécurisés et pourraient être mis en opération dans les prochaines semaines afin de s’assurer qu’à court terme aucune région ne se retrouve sans service aérien. Les prochains mois seront dédiés à bien structurer la Coopérative pour être en pleine opération en 2021.

Comme il l’est fait dans toutes autres coopératives, en achetant une part sociale. Ainsi, les coopérants Treq auront accès à nos services et nos prix de billets.

Tous sont bienvenus.

Embarquez-vous?

Joignez-vous à notre liste de diffusion pour rester informé !